Aderhold Learning Center
Georgia Aquarium
Oui Team
GSU students
IPDPS 2010
Stephen Pellicer
Final Exam
ACM Student Chapter Officers
ISBRA 2007
The Department of Computer Science was created in 1999 when Georgia State's Department of Mathematics and Computer Science was split into two departments. Since then, the department has made tremendous strides, including hiring a first-class faculty, creating a successful Ph.D. program, and building collaborative research and education programs with other science departments. Active research areas in the department include bioinformatics, graphics and visualization, networks and distributed systems, and algorithms. Six faculty members (Dr. Zhipeng Cai, Dr. Xiaojun Cao, Dr. Xiaolin Hu, Dr. Yingshu Li, Dr. WenZhan Song, and Dr. Raheem Beyah, now at Georgia Tech) have won awards from the National Science Foundation's Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program. The department's Ph.D. program is nationally competitive and ranks among the best in the Southeast, according to National Research Council data. The program also has a high rank in several categories at the PhDs.org website. More...


Ph.D. Student Receives Dissertation Grant
Ph.D. student Qian Hu has won a Georgia State University Dissertation Grant.

Department Welcomes Visitors
The Department of Computer Science hosted nine visitors during the 2013–2014 academic year.

M.S. Student Wins Second Place in Mobile App Competition
M.S. student Priyanka Tejaswi Yechuri has won second place in the CDCA 3rd Annual Mobile App Competition.

Cao Elected Secretary of Optical Networking Committee
Associate Professor Xiaojun Cao has been elected secretary of the IEEE Communications Society’s Optical Networking Technical Committee.

Pan Participates in Accelerated Leadership Academy
Professor Yi Pan recently participated in the Accelerated Leadership Academy, an executive training program conducted by the University System.


Monday, August 4, 2014 - 9:00am
20th International Computing and Combinatorics Conference (COCOON 2014)
Aderhold Learning Center